Press Release

Indian American Impact Endorses 11 Additional South Asian Candidates Nationwide

For Immediate Release:
April 8, 2024

Contact: Sarah Shah 

Washington, D.C.— Indian American Impact proudly releases its latest round of endorsements, bringing the total number of endorsed candidates for the 2024 election cycle to 35. 

Since its inception in 2016, Indian American Impact has endorsed and supported 166 candidates across the country, contributing to the historic rise of Indian and South Asian American representation in politics. Through strategic investments and grassroots organizing, Impact has marshaled upwards of $20 million to candidates and robust voter mobilization and policy advocacy efforts, amplifying the voices of South Asian Americans and driving positive change in communities nationwide.

Taher Hasanali, Indian American Impact’s National Political Director, shared the following statement: 

“South Asian Americans are ascending to positions of leadership in public service at an extraordinary rate. Today, we’re proud to unequivocally support 11 Indian and South Asian Americans in six states running for office across all levels of local and state government: city council to state senate. 

Each of these trailblazers is committed to championing our community’s priorities such as public education and increasing access to healthcare. Their unwavering commitment promises to enhance the lives of all Americans, while paving the way for future generations of South Asian leaders.”

Indian American Impact’s Latest Endorsed Candidates:

*Dr. Ravi ShahTucson Unified School District Governing Board

Ashwin RamaswamiState Senate District 48

New York:
*Zohran MamdaniState Assembly District 36
*Jeremy CooneyState Senate District 56

*Pavan ParikhHamilton County Clerk of Courts

*Nikil SavalState Senate District 1

Sumbel ZebCollin Central Appraisal District Board of Directors
Taral PatelFort Bend County Commissioner Precinct 3
*Nabil ShikeFort Bend County Constable Precinct 3
Ashika GangulyAustin City Council District 10
*Suleman LalaniState House District 76